quotes

11:52 a.m., 2003-07-22

� � � � � � Quotes

All quotes are categorized, so if you are looking for a specific type of quote, please look at the Headers. Thank You!

Credits:

4 degreez.com Quotes

Justice/Freedom

"I am prepared to die, but there is no cause for which I am prepared to kill."

-Mahatma Gandhi


"Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, we shall pay any price, bear any burden, meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe, to assure the survival and success of liberty."

-John F. Kennedy

"Is life so dear or peace so sweet as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others may take, but as for me, give me liberty, or give me death!"

-Patrick Henry

"The only purpose for which power can be rightfully exercised over any member of a civilized community, against his will, is to prevent harm to others."

-John Stuart Mill

"So long as we have enough people in this country willing to fight for their rights, we'll be called a democracy."

-Roger Baldwin

"Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere."

-Martin Luther King, Jr.

"Man is free at the moment he wishes to be."

-Voltaire

"When they took the fourth amendment, I was silent because I don't deal drugs. When they took the sixth amendment, I kept quiet because I know I'm innocent. When they took the second amendment, I said nothing because I don't own a gun. Now they've come for the first amendment, and I can't say anything at all."

-Tim Freeman

"Freedom of speech and freedom of action are meaningless without freedom to think. And there is no freedom of thought without doubt."

-Bergen Evans

"Liberty is the possibility of doubting, the possibility of making a mistake, the possibility of searching and experimenting, the possibility of saying No to any authority--literary, artistic, philosophic, religious, social and even political."

-Ignazio Silone

"I'm the one that has to die when it's time for me to die, so let me live my life, the way I want to."

-Jimi Hendrix

Love

"To love and be loved is to feel the sun from both sides."

-David Viscott

"Love is not finding someone to go to bed with, but finding someone you want to wake up next to in the morning. Love is not finding the perfect person, but finding the imperfect person perfect."

-???

"You don't love a woman because she is beautiful, but she is beautiful because you love her."

-???

"I love you, not for what you are, but for what I am when I am with you."

-Roy Croft

"The mind has a thousand eyes, And the heart but one; Yet the light of a whole life dies, When love is done."

-F. W. Bourdillon

"Love and a cough cannot be hid."

-George Herbert

"If you judge someone, you have no time to love them."

-Mother Teresa

"Love and magic have a great deal in common. They enrich the soul, delight the heart. And they both take practice."

-Nora Roberts

Humor

"If you ever fall off the Sears Tower, just go real limp, because maybe you'll look like a dummy and people will try to catch you because, hey, free dummy."

-Jack Handey

"We tend to scoff at the beliefs of the ancients. But we can't scoff at them personally, to their faces, and this is what annoys me."

-Jack Handey

"Do not worry about your problems with mathematics, I assure you mine are far greater."

-Albert Einstein

"Sometimes when I'm driving behind a big cement truck, I think of how the valve on the truck could suddenly open, spilling cement over my car, encasing me inside and leaving me to slowly fall into an oxygen-deprived coma, from which I awaken five years later to find my wife remarried to my best friend. But then I think maybe I'm just being paranoid, because what are the odds of *that* happening again?"

-Jack Handy

"Spring is nature's way of saying 'Let's party!'"

-Robin Williams

"I am amazed at radio DJ's today. I am firmly convinced that AM on my radio stands for Absolute Moron. I will not begin to tell you what FM stands for."

-Jasper Carrott

"Have you ever noticed that anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?"

-George Carlin

"I came, I saw, I shopped a little bit."

-bumper sticker

"I only watch Baywatch for the articles."

-Cheef Dan

"I just took an IQ test. The results were negative."

-???

"It's easy to get lost in thought if it's not familiar territory to you."

-???

More will be added shortly!

� � pr�c�dent ou apr�s

Laura.